And so to the Ferry………………..

I can’t remember a great deal about our journey from Athens to Patra from where we were getting the ferry to Italy.  Did we even stop………can’t seem to find any photos either.  If we didn’t stop I’ll bet I was hungry and thirsty!  (and I also would think I wouldn’t be very happy with Ian for not stopping!) I do remember this fabulous bridge tho’

I wanted to go over it but it didn’t go the way we were.

Out initial plan was to take the ferry to Brindisi but when we enquired about sailing times were told there was none till the next day, so instead booked for a sailing to Bari which was in about 2 hours time.  We were shocked also at the price of the ferry, I think they double it for 3 months of the year – why??  it doesn’t cost them any extra to sail in August than it does in April……….and the cabin prices are so ridiculously high – they add another 300 euros on the price!  (we didn’t get  a cabin!!)

I love boats, I would like to have a boat and sail all over in (on?) it.  Ferries are not boats.  They are floating “family hotel complexes”.  I HATE them (more than I hate camping!) People commandeer the “couches” as soon as they set foot on the ferry – they put their feet, luggage, clothes and whatever else they have all over them so nobody else can get on them.  Even tho’ we were pretty much one of the first vehicles on the ferry, we weren’t the first people.   Foot passengers – hundreds of them, and they had pretty much taken up every available “couch”!  The ones who really annoy me, are the ones who book cabins, take their luggage to them and then come and claim their “seating area”  – STAY IN YOUR CABIN  – YOU’VE PAID FOR IT!!!!  We managed to find a table and a couple of chairs near to the TV area – big mistake!  There were kids running around shouting and a group of around 5o Italian pensioners who completely took over.  Why do people speaking in a foreign language always sound louder than those speaking your language??  Anyway, we didn’t get any sleep and arrived in Bari the next morning very tired!

We couldn’t get off the ferry.  We were blocked in by a GS, which Ian stood admiring and I felt like kicking!  We were with all the trucks, it was very hot and the diesel fumes were choking.  It was almost empty when Mr GS arrived.  Ian and he spoke – I just scowled…..

Moaning post over!  😦

Mileage 16926

6 Responses to “And so to the Ferry………………..”

  1. Bev:

    glad you became “unstuck” from the ferry. We wondered where you were. You wouldn’t be having such a lapse in memory had you entered some comments and posted sooner. Now all the facts are “LOST” leaving us to guess . . .

    Nice pictures from the ferry, esp the sunset. What, no pictures of the offending people on the ferry ?

    That did look like a very nice bridge, should have gone over it anyway

    welcome back from your hibernation

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    say Hi to the DJ for me

  2. travelswithmymotorbike Says:

    Hi Bev,

    Speaking as a ”commandeerer of couches” its the only way to travel, you’ll just have to be quicker up those stairs next time..mind you we were so dirty and smelly I dont think anyone would have wanted to sit near us anyway lol.

    cheers,

    Dave….

  3. Hi Bob, you’re right I have forgotten where we went now! I know it was Italy next but where ……….. maybe i’ll make it up! Yep, should have gone over the bridge – Ian’s fault!!

    Hi Dave, I would have sat on your couches cos I bet you wouldn’t be able to give “the look” that says “don’t you dare sit here”! Linda probably could tho’……….hmmm, am sure she would have!!

  4. Bev:

    You mean . . . Linda has “the Look?” You mean, she’s not a softie ?

    forgot to mention that I love those pictures of yourself on Linda’s video.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  5. Bev:

    it’s me again. I just found your ballerina dance video. Excellent.

    You’ll have to do a dance for us, Perhaps in Turkey 2011 and wear the same outfit

    luv
    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Haha – trust you to find that Bob! You can probably see why I never became a dancer then!

      Have a great holiday in Hawaiii.

Leave a Reply

